Omega European Masters 2017: Matthew Fitzpatrick Beats Scott Hend in Play-Off

Matthew Fitzpatrick won the 2017 Omega European Masters on Sunday at the Crans-sur-Sierre golf club in Lens, Switzerland, as Scott Hend suffered his second consecutive play-off loss.

After last year’s disappointment against Alex Noren, the Australian again fell short, losing his overnight lead on Sunday before missing a costly putt in the play-off.

For a look at the final leaderboard, visit the European Tour’s official website.



Hend entered the final round with a three-shot lead after tricky weather conditions disrupted Saturday’s action, but the Australian struggled with his shots from the tee on Sunday and his lead quickly evaporated.

Back-to-back bogeys on the front nine were offset by three birdies, and he did manage to make the most out of several tricky situations―including this extraordinary birdie:

Several players pushed themselves up the leaderboard, including Fitzpatrick and Mikko Ilonen, who both shot rounds of six under. Ilonen dropped just the single shot but hit a fantastic eagle on the 15th, and Fitzpatrick went on a sensational run in the middle of his round.

Here are two of his key shots, the birdie on the 16th putting him in an excellent position:

But the Englishman carded a bogey on the 17th to move back to 14 under, and Hend tied his score with two holes left for the Aussie. Par on the 17th meant the 18th hole would be decisive, and another par for Hend forced a play-off.

Both made par to start the play-off―with Fitzpatrick’s putt barely dropping―and the Englishman nearly won it the second time around with a putt that only just missed. 

A poor approach shot from Hend the third time around left Fitzpatrick with two putting chances to win it, and par was enough for the 23-year-old to add his fourth win on the European Tour.

Read more Golf news on


Stan Musial Rogers Hornsby Eddie Collins Ted Williams Mickey Mantle Lou Gehrig Rickey Henderson Mel Ott Mike Schmidt Frank Robinson Nap Lajoie Joe Morgan Cap Anson Alex Rodriguez Eddie Mathews Jimmie Foxx Al Kaline George Davis Cal Ripken Wade Boggs Carl Yastrzemski Roger Connor George Brett Dan Brouthers Roberto Clemente Joe DiMaggio Charlie Gehringer Jeff Bagwell Rod Carew Ken Griffey Robin Yount Chipper Jones Albert Pujols Sam Crawford Bill Dahlen Frank Thomas Arky Vaughan Pete Rose Paul Molitor Frankie Frisch Ed Delahanty Reggie Jackson Paul Waner Fred Clarke Johnny Bench Johnny Mize Billy Hamilton Lou Whitaker Harry Heilmann Brooks Robinson Luke Appling Barry Larkin Derek Jeter Tony Gwynn Jesse Burkett Bobby Grich Carlton Fisk Duke Snider Edgar Martinez Larry Walker Jim Thome Alan Trammell Eddie Murray Jim Edmonds Ivan Rodriguez Pee Wee Reese Ron Santo Gary Carter Manny Ramirez Craig Biggio Rafael Palmeiro Willie McCovey Kenny Lofton Tim Raines Ozzie Smith Ernie Banks Frank Baker Roberto Alomar Al Simmons Gary Sheffield Mark McGwire Reggie Smith Jackie Robinson Goose Goslin Joe Jackson Joe Cronin Scott Rolen Ryne Sandberg Dwight Evans Yogi Berra Jake Beckley Graig Nettles Harmon Killebrew Dick Allen Keith Hernandez Willie Keeler Buddy Bell Sal Bando Willie Randolph Bobby Wallace Jimmy Wynn Dave Winfield Sammy Sosa Jeff Kent Mike Piazza Sherry Magee Jack Glasscock Andruw Jones Ken Boyer Richie Ashburn Bid McPhee Zack Wheat Willie Stargell Will Clark Todd Helton Billy Williams Willie Davis Vladimir Guerrero Bobby Abreu Darrell Evans Bobby Bonds Hank Greenberg Andre Dawson John Olerud Elmer Flick Joe Medwick Lou Boudreau Billy Herman Joe Torre Joe Kelley Bill Terry Robin Ventura Jack Clark Joe Gordon Stan Hack Carlos Beltran Bill Dickey Enos Slaughter Bob Johnson Jimmy Collins Norm Cash Minnie Minoso Jason Giambi Jose Cruz Bob Elliott Harry Hooper Cesar Cedeno Buck Ewing Ron Cey Jimmy Sheckard Mickey Cochrane Tommy Leach Sam Rice Ted Simmons Ichiro Suzuki Max Carey Fred McGriff George Sisler Tony Perez Gabby Hartnett Chet Lemon Luis Aparicio Kiki Cuyler Hugh Duffy Frank Chance Brian Downing John McGraw Vada Pinson Joe Tinker Gene Tenace King Kelly Johnny Evers Joe Sewell Tony Lazzeri Bobby Doerr Ellis Burks Hughie Jennings Tony Phillips Fielder Jones Larry Doby Larry Doyle Fred Lynn Bernie Williams Cupid Childs Mark Grace Toby Harrah Harry Stovey Edd Roush Orlando Cepeda Mike Cameron

Comments are closed.